Breaking: Trevor and Omika winners of GUSA’s 2014 executive election

At 1:01 a.m., the GUSA Election Commission announced via Twitter that Trevor Tezel (SFS ’15) and Omika Jikaria (SFS ’15) are the winners of the 2014 GUSA executive election. This year, 3,517 students voted on Hoyalink, a 5.79 percent fall in turnout compared to last year.

In the first round of instant runoff voting, Tezel and Jikaria placed ahead; they were the first choice with 34.5 percent of the votes counted. Thomas Lloyd (SFS ’15) and Jimmy Ramirez (COL ’15) received the fewest votes and were eliminated.

Ben Weiss (COL ’15) and Sam Greco (SFS ’15) were eliminated in the second round.

In the final round of instant-runoff voting, Tezel/Jikaria amassed a majority, with 53 percent of votes over Zach Singer (SFS ’15) and Dan Silkman’s (COL ’15) 47 percent.

Chicken Madness received 102 votes, compared to last year’s 42 votes.

Screen Shot 2014-02-28 at 1.05.21 am

Tezel and Jikaria were overwhelmed and excited by their victory. “Oh my God, I don’t know what to say right now. I love you guys so much,” Jikaria said after the Election Commission announced the results on their Twitter feed.

Their ticket was the popular front-runner in this year’s election, winning both Vox‘s the The Hoya‘s straw polls by sizeable margins. Their ticket also received endorsements from a wide spectrum of student leaders, including the Graduate Student Organization and Hoyas for Immigrant Rights.

The election was closely tied between Tezel/Jikaria and Singer/Silkman. In the second round, of the 561 votes that listed Lloyd/Ramirez as the first choice, 45 percent went to Tezel/Jikaria, and 40 percent to Singer/Silkman. Lloyd and Ramirez had cross-endorsed Singer and Silkman, but it seemed that not all their voters had followed their suggestion.

3,443 votes went to the four tickets in the first round of instant runoff voting, which means 74 votes went to write-in candidates, including Chicken Madness and all her sandwich compatriots.

This year’s election is, perhaps, in contrast to last year’s sour atmosphere, rumors, and secret societies. Outgoing GUSA president Nate Tisa (SFS ’14) found it to be a clean race: “Thank you to all tickets for a good, clean, idea-driven race,” Tisa told Vox.

“This has been a really great honor and a great experience. I’m so appreciative of the support we’ve seen,” Greco told Vox after the polls were closed.

Tezel and Jikaria will replace Tisa and vice-president Adam Ramadan (SFS ’14).

“Congratulations to Trevor and Omika. We’re excited to see what they do for Georgetown,” Tisa said.

Video: Georgetown Voice/Ambika Ahuja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>