2010 Elections: Hoyas in the House (and Senate)

Yesterday, while all the political junkies were waiting anxiously for the polls to close, Vox highlighted the tossup and leaning races that featured Georgetown alumni. Today, we’ve got the results of yesterday’s elections and how Hoyas fared.

Race yet to be decided

Republican Senator Lisa Murkowski (COL ’80) still might win her write-in bid for reelection. Total write-in ballots lead the race, but names on the write-ins cannot be counted until officials determine that a write-in candidate has a legitimate chance to win.

Winning Hoyas

Illinois Senate: Representative Mark Kirk (LAW ’92) defeated Alexi Giannoulias for the open senate seat that used to be held by President Barack Obama.

Vermont Senate: Senator Patrick Leahy (LAW ’64) defeated Republican Len Britton in his bid for reelection.

3rd District, California: Republican Representative Dan Lungren (LAW ’71) defeated Ami Bera in this race leaning in his favor.

2nd District, Hawaii: Representative Mazie Hirono (LAW ’78) was reelected yesterday, defeating Republican challenger John Willoughby.

1st District, Indiana: Democratic Representative Peter Visclosky (LAW ’82) will be heading back to Congress after defeating Mark Leyva.

5th District, Maryland: Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (LAW ’66) returns to Congress—just not as the majority leader—after defeating Charles Lollar.

8th District, Maryland: Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chair Chris Van Hollen (LAW ’90) won his own race by beating challenger Michael Philips.

13th District, Michigan: After defeating an incumbent in the primary, Democrat Hansen Clarke (LAW ’87) defeated John Hauler to join the House of Representatives.

15th District, Michigan: The Dean of the House of Representatives—the longest serving member—Representative John Dingell (COL ’49, LAW ’52) held off his challenger Rob Steele and will be return for another term.

1st District, Nebraska: Republican Jeff Fortenberry (GPPI ’86) easily returns to Congress after defeating Ivy Harper.

1st District, Rhode Island: Democrat David Cicilline (LAW ’86) beat John Laughlin for the open seat being vacated by Representative Patrick Kennedy.

5th District, South Carolina: House Budget Committee Chairman John Spratt lost to his Republican challenger Mick Mulvaney (SFS ’89).

28th District, Texas: Representative Henry Cuellar (SFS ’78) easily beat his Republican challenger Bryan Underwood.

10th District, Virginia: Incumbent Republican Frank Wolf (LAW ’65) beat Jeff Barnett in his reelection bid.

Losing Hoyas

5th District, Iowa: Matthew Campbell (LLM ’01) lost an uphill battle to incumbent Republican Steve King.

4th District, Massachusetts: Sean Bielat (COL ’97) failed in his challenge to House Financial Services Chairman Barney Frank.

1st District, New Mexico: Democratic Representative Martin Heinrich beat Jonathan Barela (SFS ’82, LAW ’87) in this leaning Democratic race.

7th District, Pennsylvania: Bryan Lentz (COL ’86) lost his bid to replace Representative Joe Sestak to Republican Patrick Meehan.

1st District, South Dakota: Incumbent Stephanie Herseth-Sandlin (COL ’93, GRAD/LAW ’96) lost to Sarah Palin-endorsed Kristi Noem.

2nd District, Virginia: Another incumbent Hoya lost when Scott Rigell beat incumbent Democrat Glenn Nye (SFS ’96).

Photo (Isn’t it delightfully terrible?): CNN

3 Comments on “2010 Elections: Hoyas in the House (and Senate)

  1. Pingback: Vox Populi » Jesuit college alumni make up one-tenth of U.S. Congress

  2. Pingback: Vox Populi » Hoyas dominate list of top staffers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>