Cry Me a River-a: DSR to Enter NBA Draft, Will Forego Senior Year

Georgetown junior guard D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera announced Tuesday that he will forgo his final year of eligibility and will submit his name for this June’s NBA Draft. Smith-Rivera plans to sign with an agent, removing all possibility that he will return next season.

“D’Vauntes has decided to enter the NBA Draft,” Georgetown Head Coach John Thompson III said in a press release. “He has given a great deal to this program and we will do everything we can to help him pursue his goals.”

This was a surprise announcement by Smith-Rivera, considering many NBA Draft experts, such as ESPN, DraftExpress, and NBA Draft Net all have him pegged as a player who will go undrafted in June. In fact, all three services have Smith-Rivera ranked outside of their Top 100 player rankings. For reference, there are 60 selections made in the draft.

Smith-Rivera led the Hoyas in scoring this past year, 16.3 points per game, as well as assists, 3.2 per game, and was an All-Big East 1st Team selection. The Big East Preseason Player of the Year entering this season, Smith-Rivera had nine games this season with at least 20 points and finished his junior season ranked 18th all-time at Georgetown with 1,386 points.

This will be a huge loss for a Georgetown team that will lose two starters, guard Jabril Trawick and center Joshua Smith, from this year’s NCAA Tournament team to graduation. If drafted, however, Smith-Rivera will become the first Hoya to be drafted since Otto Porter, Jr. was selected 3rd overall by the Washington Wizards in the 2013 NBA Draft. Overall, nine Hoyas have gone on to play in the NBA under Thompson. Only six have been drafted (Jeff Green, Roy Hibbert, Patrick Ewing Jr. DaJuan Summers, Greg Monroe, and Porter Jr.). Three players, Chris Wright, Henry Sims, and Hollis Thompson have played in the NBA after going unselected.

Photo: Noah Buyon


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>